Demon Slayer timeline: How to watch the show and movies in order

Want to start watching Demon Slayer but don't know where to start? Don't worry, we got you!
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Swordsmith Village Arc. Image courtesy Crunchyroll
Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Swordsmith Village Arc. Image courtesy Crunchyroll /

With Demon Slayer being one of the most popular new-generation anime of all time, it doesn't come as a surprise to us that this title releases installments very frequently.

Of course, we're not complaining in the slightest, as each and every one of this anime's releases has been nothing short of a great time. However, with so many episodes and films, it's easy to get lost in the order in which you should view to avoid missing out on any important details or, even worse, getting spoiled before you are ready.

Should you watch the sophomore season before the first film? Does the second movie serve a purpose in the grand story? Should you just watch whatever you want in whatever order you want? All these questions and more are ones you may have, which is why we're here to answer them all!

What's the best order to watch Demon Slayer?

First and foremost, if you're getting into Demon Slayer, you have to start with the very first season of the anime. The first season sets the tone and, without it, you won't come to understand important things such as what happened to Tanjiro Kamado's family or how Tanjiro came to meet such strong allies.

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Swordsmith Village Arc. Image courtesy Crunchyroll /

The film Sibling's Bond is essentially the same exact thing as the first season, so there's no need to watch if you prefer binge-watching episodes. (If you don't, then, by all means, watch the film!)

Here's our recommended order of how to watch the shounen anime without getting confused:

  • First: Demon Slayer season 1 (2019) OR Sibling's Bond (2019)
  • Second: Demon Slayer: Mugen Train (2020)
  • Third: Entertainment District Arc or season 2 (2021) - The second season begins with the entire Mugen Train Arc broken up by the episode. Skip to episode 8 to begin the Entertainment District Arc.
  • Fourth: Swordsmith Village Arc or season 3 (2023) - To the Swordsmith Village shows the events of the Entertainment District Arc before the beginning of the Swordsmith Village Arc.
  • Fifth: Hashira Training Arc (2024)

Last but not least is the Hashira Training Arc!

Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Swordsmith Village Arc. Image courtesy Crunchyroll /

Since the arc is currently only available to watch in the form of a film, we recommend heading to theaters to catch the film To the Hashira Training Arc depending on whether or not there are currently showtimes near you, if you're someone who prefers to be caught up with everything.

In the same breath, if you are perfectly fine with waiting or cannot watch the film, your best option is to wait for the Hashira Training Arc to release new episodes every week until its conclusion. The content will be the exact same as the film, so you won't have to worry about missing out on anything. That begins this Sunday, May 12, 2024, on Crunchyroll.

Check out the official trailer for the latest arc below.

Naturally, superfans of the anime are well within their right to watch every single film and TV release of Demon Slayer. But if you would rather keep it short and sweet, we think our order is the best to follow.

Breaking down the Hashira Training Arc trailer. dark. Next. Demon Slayer Trailer

You can watch Demon Slayer on Crunchyroll.